Finalists Recognised for Their Remarkable Achievements and Public Voting Opens for the People’s Choice Award

Soldiering On Awards has hosted 41 Finalists and saluted their achievements at the 2020 Finalists Reception on Thursday 20th February, in a celebration of the very best of the Armed Forces community.

Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly

Awards President, General the Lord Dannatt GCB, CBE, MC, DL organised a private reception, attended by Vice-President Debra Allcock-Tyler CEO, the Directory of Social Change, Lt General Richard Nugee CB, CVO, CBE, Chief of Defence People, sponsors, nominators, judges and members of the Armed Forces community, where recognition was paid for the outstanding achievements of Finalists shortlisted from a record number of award nominations.

Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly

Lord Dannatt said:

“The Soldiering On Awards attract an outstanding number and calibre of nominations as this year has clearly demonstrated. To reach the shortlist of Category Finalist is a truly outstanding achievement. We salute you all! I would also like to pay a special tribute to the often unsung heroes, the nominators. Without them recognising the great work other people do, and putting the time into writing nominations, we would never know about them!”

Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly

Awards Patron, the Rt Hon Earl Howe PC said:

“The ethos of the military is do not leave anyone behind and make sure you are working for the good of the team. We are intent on sticking with this ethos as the essence of the Soldiering On Awards and I am delighted to see the results, represented by the 41 outstanding Finalists we are celebrating here.”

Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly

XFE CEO and Soldiering On Awards Co-chair Lt Col Ren Kapur MBE said:

“To reach Finalists stage at the Soldiering On Awards is an outstanding achievement. The positive ripple effect from all the different contributions the 2020 Finalists have made to the military community gives so many people the inspiration to soldier-on and these remarkable people deserve full recognition. There are always so many deserving cases and this year has been no different.”

Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly

Overall winners of two categories – the People’s Choice Award sponsored by Oracle and Animal Partnership Award sponsored by Pets At Home – will be decided by an online public vote.

The online vote for the People’s Choice Award is now closed. View the Finalists here: The online vote for the Animal Partnership Award is now closed.


“Vote now!” Lt Gen Nugee at the Soldiering on Awards Finalists Reception 2020


Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly


Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly


Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly


Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly

What’s next?

Please click here for an update on how we’ll be celebrating this year’s winners in light of the restrictions imposed due to Covid-19.

2020 Soldiering On Awards Finalists

 Family Values – Sponsored by The Military Mutual

  • Give Us Time (London) (Army)
  • Nikki Scott, Founder of Scotty’s Little Soldiers (Kings Lynn) (Army Widow)
  • Paula Edwards (Tyne and Wear)

Healthcare & Rehabilitation Award – Sponsored by Redwood Technologies

  • Combat Stress Occupational Therapy team (Leatherhead, Surrey) (Charity, Tri-service)
  • Martin Diver (Brighton) (Army)
  • Sapper Support (Kirklees, West Yorkshire) (Army)

Education, Training and Development Award – Sponsored by Capita

  • Army Foundation College Harrogate (Harrogate) (Army)
  • LifeWorks (Aylesford – Maidstone, Kent) (Charity, Tri-service)
  • Mission Motorsport (Wantage, Oxfordshire) (Army)

The Forces in Mind Trust Working Together Award – Sponsored by FiMT

  • Charnwood, Melton and Rushcliffe Borough Councils Partnership (Loughborough) (Local Gov’t Tri-service)
  • Forces Connect South East (Woking, Surrey) (Local Gov’t Tri-service)
  • Sussex, Kent and Medway Armed Forces Network Team (Lewes, Sussex) (Local Gov’t Tri-service)

 Defence Inclusivity Award – Sponsored by Landmarc

  • Leona Barr-Jones (North Hertfordshire) (Army)
  • Defence Diversity Networks (Aldershot)
  • Regional Command BAME Engagement Team (Aldershot) (Army)

Inspiration Award – Sponsored by NatWest

  • Lee Spencer (Plymouth) (Royal Marines)
  • Maj Sally Orange (Staffordshire) (Army)
  • Nikki Scott, Founder of Scotty’s Little Soldiers (Kings Lynn) (Army Widow)

People’s Choice Award – Sponsored by Oracle (Public Vote)

  • Col Deborah Taylor (Surrey) (Army)
  • Matthew Ellmer (Northants) (Army)
  • Richard and Dawn Woodhouse – Holidays for Heroes Jersey (Jersey)
  • Hector Duff OBE (Isle of Man) (Army)

Animal Partnership Award – Sponsored by Pets at Home (Public Vote)

  • Barry Coase and Bella (Eastbourne) (Army)
  • Battling On Animals and Staff (Cornwall) (Royal Navy)
  • Chris Lewis and Jet (currently walking the entire coast of the UK) (Army)
  • Stable Lives (Wigan)

Sporting Excellence Award – Sponsored by Spectra Group

  • Michael Lewis (Northampton) (Army)
  • James Rose (Middlesborough)
  • Jody Jones (Hertfordshire) (Army)

Business of the Year – Start Up Award – Sponsored by GKN Aerospace

  • Thoughtify (Coulsdon, Croydon, Surrey) (Army)
  • Toddle (Wrexham, North Wales) (RAF)
  • Tribal Tracks (Northleach, Gloucester) (Army)

Business of the Year – Scale Up  – Sponsored by London Stock Exchange Group

  • Geollect Ltd (Bristol) (Royal Navy)
  • IED Training Solutions Ltd (Arbroath, Angus, Scotland) (Royal Marines)
  • ThorpyFx Ltd (Nr Banbury, South Northamptonshire) (Army)

Business of the Year – Community Impact Award – Sponsored by Cisco

  • Armour to Barber (Redruth, Cornwall) (Army)
  • Motivational Preparation College for Training (MPCT) (Cardiff, Wales) (Army)
  • Turn to Starboard (Falmouth, Cornwall) (RAF)

The Greenwich Hospital Lifetime Achievement Award – Sponsored by Greenwich Hospital

  • Emlyn Phennah (Gloucestershire) (RAF)
  • Harold Payne (Spalding )
  • The Not Forgotten (London) (Army)


Photos taken by Rupert Frere Schmooly

For all interview requests, press passes to our Awards events and for more information about the Finalists please contact:

Anna Oliver
Tel. 07974 680069


You cannot copy content of this page