If you’ve been anxiously waiting with baited breath to find out who has won the coveted 2020 Soldiering On Awards, your wait is almost over!

This evening we proudly announced the winners of the first three categories: Family Values, Working Together and Defence Inclusivity.  And the next four Thursdays will see the other winners revealed during exciting Zoom events.

We kicked off tonight in fantastic style, with the fabulous actress Fiona Dolman compèring our first virtual award ceremony! The event was attended by the category finalists and sponsors, Patron Of the Soldering on Awards, the Rt. Hon Earl Howe, and Lt General James Swift, Chief of Defence People.

The Earl Howe, Patron of the Soldiering On Awards said: “Despite the new virtual backdrop, the evening was a tremendous hour of celebration. All the finalists’ achievements cover an impressively wide range, from driving change in the Armed Forces environment and supporting our veterans’ community, to fields beyond Service life – be that sport, business, charity-work or public service.

“As the scope and prominence of these Awards has increased with each passing year, they add ever more value through the strong and positive messages that recognition gives to the vital and impressive work being done by our Nominees, Finalists and Winners in their communities.

“Huge congratulations to ALL our fantastic 2020 winners and finalists. Each and every one of you is an inspiration to us all.”

Our finalists were: 

Give Us Time – a small Armed Services charity that provides relief by sending military families on respite breaks.




Nikki Scott, Founder of Scotty’s Little Soldiers – making the bereaved children of military personnel smile again.




Paula Edwards – understanding and utilising mental health law to implement positive changes for Veterans.




You can read more about these finalists here.



We are delighted to announce that the Winner of the Family Values Award is…


Nikki Scott


When Nikki lost her husband in action, leaving her alone with two young children, she realised there must be many children had also lost a serving parent. Nikki was determined to make these bereaved children smile again, so in 2010, she set up Scotty’s Little Soldiers in honour of her husband Corporal Lee Scott. To date, over 400 children have benefited from her care.

Family Values Award honours, family or group whose selfless commitment, dedication and support for others in the Armed Forces Community ensures that they are cared for, supported or helped.

Nikki Scott, Founder of Scotty’s Little Soldiers said: “I am really honoured to receive this award. I know that when I speak on behalf of a few bereaved families, we can sometimes feel disconnected from the community when you lose someone in the military. What I love about Scotty’s Little Soldiers is that it helps to bring families back into the military community again.

“A big thank you to Soldiering On Awards because this is just another way of helping our families to feel back within the Military Community again.”


Lt Colonel Ren Kapur MBE, CEO of X-Forces Enterprise and Co-Chair of the Soldiering On Awards said: “We are thrilled to congratulate these inspirational winners and it was wonderful to gather everyone together and celebrate our amazing community in these challenging times.

“This virtual event wasn’t quite what we had envisioned but we want to thank all of the judges and particularly the sponsors for continuing to support the Soldiering On Community; making sure that everyone’s experience this year is as special as we can possibly make it.”


A word from our Sponsor…

Lee Mooney, Chief Executive Officer of The Military Mutual, says: “The Family Values category recognises remarkable people whose selfless commitment provides a support mechanism for those in the Armed Forces Community. The values of this category are very much aligned to our guiding principal at The Military Mutual, as we are owned by the Military Family to support the wider Military Family. Once again we extend our warmest congratulations to the 2020 Finalists.”


You cannot copy content of this page